flag france

French flag england English

Nominees announced for World Athlete of the Year 2018

Logo athletics awards 2018The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 20 nominees for Male and Female World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

Voting closes on 13 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF. The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 in Monaco on Tuesday 4 December.


Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN), Christian Coleman (USA), Armand Duplantis (SWE), Eliud Kipchoge (KEN), Emmanuel Korir (KEN), Noah Lyles (USA), Luvo Manyonga (RSA), Kevin Mayer (FRA), Abderrahman Samba (QAT),Tomas Walsh (NZL)

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR), Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN), Sifan Hassan (NED), Caterine Ibarguen (COL), Mariya Lasitskene (ANA), Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH), Sandra Perkovic (CRO), Caster Semenya (RSA), Nafissatou Thiam (BEL), Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

  • ANA: (Authorised Neutral Athlete)